Sony Vaio SVE14A27CXH Vs Samsung NP700Z5C-S01UB

Status
Not open for further replies.

sanderb134

Honorable
Nov 15, 2012
First time poster and long time lurker here guys. So I'm going to buy a new laptop and I have decided between the Samsung NP700Z5C-S01UB or the Sony SVE14A27CXH. I've looked up specs and read reviews about both. I am a college student so portability and battery life are important. Also, I want it to last me a while down the road. The Samsung has better battery life but the Sony is smaller. Which one is the more powerful computer? I am not sure about the graphics in the Sony. Which do you recommend I buy?

Samsung Specs
Intel® Core™ i7-3615QM Processor
15.6" screen with 1600 x 900 resolution - Matte
8GB ram with 8GB max ram
1TB (5400 rpm) with 8GB ExpressCache™ Technology
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M with 512MB memory
8 cell battery at 9 hours 12 minutes battery life
5.29 lbs at 14.2" x 9.3" x 0.94"
101 keys with backlit keyboard
Rest of specs: http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/laptops/NP700Z5C-S01UB-specs

Sony Specs
Intel® Core™ i7-3632QM
14.0" touchscreen with 1600 x 900 resolution - Glossy
8GB ram with 16GB max ram
1TB (5400 rpm) HDD
AMD Radeon™ HD 7670M Hybrid graphics with 2GB memory
6 cell battery at 5 hours and 45 minutes battery life
5.29 lbs at 13.43" (W) x 9.65" (D) x 0.89" - 1.37" (H)
82 keys (no number pad) with backlit keyboard
Rest of specs: http://www.docs.sony.com/release/specs/SVE14A27CXH_mksp.pdf

They both weigh the same but the samsung has better battery and a number pad but the sony is smaller. The touchscreen is nice but I don't care much for. I'm just not too sure about the hybrid graphics on the sony. Also, I have a sony right now and I do not like the trackpad that much, so I don't know if this one has a similar trackpad. What are your suggestions? Thank you all very much! :)

Solution