Students needs hardware? In terms of mobility and presentation.

xeNiumw0w

Honorable
Jan 20, 2014
Hi folks. I am a student, currently looking for hardware that will ease my needs when I am on the university.
The hardware I am looking for must have the capability of mobility and presentation. I will move around and do detailed presentation along with live presentation too, a lot.

I am thinking about buying Microsoft Surface Book and Samsung Galaxy Note 5.
Microsoft Surface Book for preparing detailed presentation and leisure purposes (I love playing games, tho I believe I will only play DotA 2 and maybe Battlefield 1) and Samsung Galaxy Note 5 for live presentation.

Are those hardware will suit my needs? or should I buy something else?

At the moment, I am in possession of Alienware M17x (1 hour battery charge, sucks and it's bulky), and a Samsung Galaxy S5 (Bent everywhere, looks real cheap)

Solution
rely on only one option for presentations is a guaranteed problem, more options is better

hdmi adapters, why do you assume that the adapter must be of a specific brand? the surface comes with a mini displayport, so you will need a mminidisplayport to displayport cable or a minidisplayport to hdmi adapter, perhaps a minidisplayport to vga

you must check the specs of what you are buying to be sure you can do what you want to do with what you buy

basically you are buying two tablets but you mention you need one in reality

for most case a lenovo ultrabook will cover you alot better, or well, at least is what i would buy, only carry one device

especially if you are going to play games, in the tablet, you will need a mouse, the small...
Since you've selected the Surface Book, I assume this means you also want to use the device in tablet mode? Be aware that most of the battery is in the keyboard. In tablet mode, it will typically last only about 3 hours.