Surround sound with two sets of speakes

marek_shields

Honorable
Nov 21, 2012
I am looking to see if it is possible to make a 4.1 (or possibly 5.1) speaker set out of a 2.1 set that I already have and a 2.0 set that I am looking at buying. The motherboard I am using has the 3.5mm jacks for a 7.1 set and the 2.1 set I have now is the Logitech LS21.

As I was looking at some pics online about the different colored audio jacks, I noticed that the orange one is labeled for 'center/subwoofer' so I assume since the LS21 only uses the green cable, that it isn't a true 2.1 set (though I am not an expert by any means on the topic).

Is it possible to just add another 2.0 speaker set to the black jack that I saw labeled 'Surround Left/Right' to make it a 4.1 set?

I have an actual 5.1 set from Creative for my computer but the two rear speakers plug into the subwoofer and so do the front 3 speakers. Then the subwoofer has a cable with the 3 plugs on it that goes into the sound card so i wasn't sure if there was some audio magic happening withing the subwoofer that made the surround sound work or if the only reason all the speakers were plugged in there was so I could control the volume of all of them simultaneously with the volume control knob they give you.

If this works to get 2.1 + 2.0 to get 4.1, is it possible to add another set of speakers to the orange jack to fake 5.1 or will that not work because the jack is meant for a subwoofer and center speaker?

Here is the image i was using for reference in case anyone was wondering: http://www.microsoft.com/library/media/1033/windowsxp/images/using/mce/expert/sound_sound_card.jpg

Solution