gborges0727

Honorable
Mar 31, 2013
So I'm new to coding and have been trying to learn C as a base first language. I've hit a block when it comes to the way C handles strings. For example, I tried to write a very simple program that asks the user what shape they're trying to calculate the area for, and then give back the result (as shown below). However, I keep getting an error when I compile the program that says in the parans following switch, that getShape is not an integer. I've looked online, and it appears for a switch statement, the expression (getShape) needs to be an integer? If that's the case, would the only way to write such a program be with a string of if / else statements using strncmp()? Any help is greatly appreciated! (Side note: this isn't for school, I'm trying to learn coding on my own).

#include <stdio.h>
#define PI 3.14
#include <string.h>

int main()
{
float length;
float width;
float diameter;
float height;
float radius = diameter / 2;
float surfaceArea;
float area;
float perimeter;
char *getShape;
strlwr(getShape);

printf("What is your shape?");
scanf("%s", &getShape);

switch (getShape)
{
case "rectangle":
printf("Please enter a length: ");
scanf("%f", &length);
printf("Please enter a width: ");
scanf("%f", &width);
printf(".. calculating, please wait..\n");
area = length * width;
printf("The area of your rectangle is %f\n", area);
break;
case "circle":
printf("Please enter a radius: ");
scanf("%f", &radius);
printf(".. calculating, please wait..\n");
area = PI * radius * radius;
perimeter = 2 * PI * radius;
printf("The area of your circle is %f, and the perimeter is %f", area, perimeter);
}
return 0;
}

Solution
You could create an enum for the getShape variable instead and set numeric values for each of the shapes and then use those. Or you could have another variable called shapeInt and put an if statement assigning a number to shapeInt and using shapeInt for the switch.

rishiswaz

Honorable
Mar 10, 2012