Xbox One DTS-MA MKV Workaround?

sierra419

Distinguished
Dec 4, 2010
I'm new to everything involving codecs, transcoding, ripping, etc. so please take it easy on me here. Anyways, I purchased a 4Tb HDD, turned it into a NAS, and ripped my entire blu ray collection through MakeMKV onto the HDD. I did this so I could watch uncompressed movies on my home theater through my Xbox One over the network without having to worry about disks. Unfortunately, after doing all this work, the Xbox One media center does not support DTS-MA in MKV containers. Since all my blu rays are their standard DTS-MA and in MKV containers- I cant play any of these movies. I really need help on a workaround to this. Can someone please help me?

These movies are going to be played on a 7.1 system that's taken me years to build (money is tight and I have expensive tastes) so I'm not looking for any kind of compression workaround. I want a full 1:1 experience of the original disk. I really need help with this.

FYI - I would use Plex but it would transcode the audio to a lower quality and I have to pay a monthly subscription for the Xbox One app. The Xbox console also doesn't support FLAC. Any thoughts or opinions?

Buy a cheap slim PS3 for it? lol.

http://www.digitaltrends.com/home-theater/demystifying-the-audio-settings-on-your-playstation-3/

I actually have a PS3 but don't think I have anything DTS-MA to test with. If you have a link to a sample online I could test with. I have a Denon 7.1 E400 which supports DTS-MA, so if the PS3 passes it properly from a networked movie file shared on my network, then my receiver should show me on the LCD.

Let me know if you want me to try this route for you.

Hi,

Actually your BEST bet at this point is to buy a media player that supports this natively. I definitely would not get a PS3.

I use a WDTV Live device and it's awesome. The Roku 3 should work well though I've not tested it.

I think the best future-proofing is to get one with: