Android tv box

bikerbobw

Prominent
Jul 24, 2017
Hi All
I am new to all this smart technology
I have a home theater Pioneer VSX-831 and Samsung series 7 4K tv and would like to use an android box with Kodi
First question will any box provide 4k reception provided the box has Android 6 (marshmello)
Second question is there are a 1000 boxes out there; what would you recommend?
I am considering the Leelbox MXQ Pro or the Wetek play 2
Do you have any experience with either of these to boxes
Thanks for your reply
Bikerbob

Solution
No. The box needs to specifically provide 4k with HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2. I don't think the OS has anything to do with it. It's a hardware issue. HDR would be nice to have too.
Can't help with specific boxes. Would suggest that the seller with the best tech support and warranty be a priority.
No. The box needs to specifically provide 4k with HDMI 2.0 and HDCP 2.2. I don't think the OS has anything to do with it. It's a hardware issue. HDR would be nice to have too.
Can't help with specific boxes. Would suggest that the seller with the best tech support and warranty be a priority.

Solution
Almost any box can provide 4K output, provided the media is available in 4K resolution. HDMI 2.0 isn't necessary. 4K @ 30Hz (the 'norm' for media) has been available since 1.4

Although almost any box "can" do it, in theory..... most lack evenly remotely close to appropriate hardware to do so smoothly.. Many are even marked as "4K boxes", but trying to run 4K on the available resources can be painful. Skipped frames, freezing etc.

From an OS perspective, I believe 4K playback has been supported since 4.4.

I haven't researched too many boxes in a while, so not sure of what's available overall. The reason I haven't researched in a while, is I own a Nexus Player and an nVidia Shield. I can't recommend them highly enough. The cheap(ish) boxes usually have limited support/updates and become (relatively) obsolete pretty quickly.