Solved! are soundbars upgradable?

Jun 7, 2019
Hi, I'm new to the technologies in audio and so this may be a basic question. I'm a music/audio lover and i'm looking to upgrade my 7 year old Sony 5.1 surround system(doesnt really have surround effect). Also, I currently cannot buy something for 400-500$. So, is it possible to get the sound system setup one at a time? like get a good stereo speaker or 2.1 soundbar system now and then attach the center and rear speakers after 6 month or 1 year to have the full setup later. Any thoughts?
Please forgive me if this is a totally nonsensical question

Solution
Some soundbars do offer add on subwoofers and surround speakers. These are not the lower prices ones. I don't know of any that allow you to add a center channel given that there would be no place to put it. Some soundbars do have 3 channels built in. The sound quality of soundbars almost always leaves something to be desired compared to a real surround sound system.
If you are satisfied with the sound of your present speakers and are missing something in your present receiver then update that first. A 1-2 year old used one might work for you and be affordable.
If the speakers aren't good enough then replace the front three speakers for more clarity and the sub for better bass. The rears are the least important so you can replace them last.
Some soundbars do offer add on subwoofers and surround speakers. These are not the lower prices ones. I don't know of any that allow you to add a center channel given that there would be no place to put it. Some soundbars do have 3 channels built in. The sound quality of soundbars almost always leaves something to be desired compared to a real surround sound system.
If you are satisfied with the sound of your present speakers and are missing something in your present receiver then update that first. A 1-2 year old used one might work for you and be affordable.