Dell XPS 15 9560 vs 9570 for uni student

Bilal_24

Commendable
Jun 7, 2016
Hi guys,

Since the 9570 is out with the 6-core i7 8750h and the 1050ti, the price difference between the two models ends up being about 200 dollars USD. The older configuration has i7 7700hq and the gtx 1050.

I am an engineering student and I want to get a laptop for university assignments, some basic software use such as Matlab, Microstran and maybe basic AutoCAD work, nothing too extreme. I also would like to keep FIFA 18, Fallout 4 and maybe another couple games on hand so I can do some light 1080p Med to high gaming (not too big on graphics quality, fps count for better) when I get bored. Apart from that, just the standard use of Microsoft excel, word, powerpoint and basic internet browsing like Netflix and that for day to day use.

So my question therefore is, is it worth paying the extra 200 USD for my proposed use of the laptop? Or should I get the 6 core, 1050ti newer varaint? Won't the older model do everything I require? and that way I can use the money to get bigger storage (1TB on the older model vs 512GB on the newer one)

Last question, which has been bugging me a lot, will the newer model throttle? Im assuming it will, its the same body but with components that have higher performance throughput and the GPU actually has higher TDP as well, so yea guys plz advise, im really confused!

I dont have much experience with laptops, never purchased one before

Solution
worth is very subjective metric.
you definitely get much more for those 200$. IMHO, if you can spend those 200, it will make your experience better for longer period of time as both extra 2 cores and a better GPU will be able to deal with your current and future tasks/games better.

n0ns3ns3

Commendable
May 25, 2016
worth is very subjective metric.