Drive in theater at a marina

fr378417

Honorable
Jul 3, 2012
Hi,

I am extremely new to this industry but am interested in starting a drive in movie theater in a marina parking lot with ample space. The idea is to make a little money off of the admission tickets, but the real goal is to create exposure for the restaurant. Its my uncles marina and restaurant and he has already given me permission to use the lot. Zoning shouldnt be an issue as its a commercial/industrial property. I would say the lot space is about 200 x 300 ft and can fit at least 120 cars. The lot is rarely used for the restaurant because there another lot with plenty of space. I am looking into inflatable screens and have found some very good prices. The only thing that is really restricting the size of the screen is the lumens rating on most projectors. I was told that I would need about 16 sq ft per lumens. I was thinking about a screen that is 32.5 by 60 ft, but at 1950 sq ft that would require a projector that that has at least 31200 lumens. These projectors go for a ton of money. I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions as to what my screen size should be, what projector to use, and if that much lumens is really necessary per sq ft. I am open to any suggestion and I thank you in advance.

Frank

jcoultas98

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2009

You really have a lot to deal with here. Before i went C/E I actually did theater installation as my job in high school. You have a few major hurdles. I will try to break this down as simply as i can recall