How's Olevia? Good brand? 37" for $600

NamelessMC

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2005
Fry's Ad for the TV 37" LCD

Olevia website product description

Now, I know it's only 720p. I also know that there are 37" TV's for $1000 that have 1080P. The thing is, I'm a college student. I don't like when people act like if you can't afford the best TV on the planet, you shouldn't have a TV at all. There was a time a few years ago when it was okay to find a budget consumer electronic and it lasted a long time.

If you're the type of person that displays the, "This TV is only $XX more and way better even if it's smaller" type of attitude, please do not post here. I want to know about this TV, or anything similarly priced with the same size.

Is Olevia a good brand?

What's the OEM LCD on it?

Anyone with personal experience?

Any other TV's in this price range that offer the same size/ connections/ quality or maybe more quality?

scryer_360

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2007
I work at a Bestbuy, I sell these for a living, if thats not good enough background do not listen to me.

Olevia, Westinghouse, Visio and the ilk are rarely worth the price. The reasons are as follows:
1. Low contrast ratio. Contrast is the difference between the darkest and brightest colors, the higher the contrast the fuller, richer colors you will have. I know the three brands mentioned typically have a 1000:1 contrast ratio. Yes, you can "adjust" contrast, but the ratio is the lengths to which the depth can be shown. In other words, you cannot adjust a 1000:1 tv to the same color depth as a 4000:1 TV. Its just not physically possible. You need a whole new color processor.