Is benchmark software recommendable?

KaterineL

Honorable
Jun 29, 2013
So I am getting a gaming laptop and because of my curiosity about benchmark, I have developed several questions.

1. Is it recommendable to be use when purchasing new computer component?

2. Should a brand new laptop (buying from a reseller) be put through the stress test and the benchmark software

3. However, are there any top free benchmark software that you will recommend to me. ( I am a newbie, please forgive my lack of computer knowledge.

I have done a little research and found 3dmark11, pcmark7 and unigine heaven.
I have also found a pretty neat forum at http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/351605-28-best-benchmark-software-performance .
However with my limited knowledge of benchmark software, the list of that was presented seems overwhelming.

The laptop i owned have such specs

4th Generation Intel® Haswell Core™ i7-4700MQ
8GB - DDR3 1600MHz Dual Channel Memory
NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 765M 2,048MB PCI-Express GDDR5 DX11 w/ Optimus™ Technology

and soon to be samsung 840 pro but 128gb only.

Tradesman1

Honorable
There's tons of them out there, take a look at Guru3D for a good selection:

http://www.guru3d.com/files_categories/benchmarks_demos.html

and running a stress test or 2 like Prime95 is a good idea, and do it before the return period runs out, so you can RMA/return to vendor during the period, otherwise if a problem have to go through the manufacturer which is a real pain, and if there is a problem you often get a used/refurbished one in return

Tradesman1

Honorable
There's tons of them out there, take a look at Guru3D for a good selection:

http://www.guru3d.com/files_categories/benchmarks_demos.html