DJShafman

Estimable
Feb 21, 2014
Hello there people,
I am new to the world of pc gaming and laptops in general, but I have decided to get into it. At the moment, I have a 15" mid-2012 macbook pro (full specs: 8GB 1600 MHz DDR3, 2.6GHz Core i7, Intel HD Graphics 4000 1024 MB and a 750GB SATA). I have decided to get a new laptop, but one which is specified mostly for gaming. I would like the same amount of storage, 8-16 GB of ram, about 4GHz. Preferably a HDD with an SSD for the OS is preferred, however if it doesn't fit that's not required. I would like it to be roughly 15", and not much thicker than my mac if that's possible. Basically, I am looking for a $2000-3000 laptop, which could run pretty much all current games well, and be future-proof for about 3 years.
Thanks for the help!

DJShafman

Estimable
Feb 21, 2014

Thanks, one of those two looks quite a good website to chose. However, both of them present me with so many different options! I have no idea whether to get a samsung/ crucial/ patriot pyro/ OCX Vertex or and intel ssd, or whether to get kingston/ crucial or corsair ram, and so on. If it's not too much trouble, could you please specify the difference between all those options, and evaluate them? That would be very helpful!

There are quite a few options for the drives and for ram, too many for me to directly compare here. I'm assuming you're looking at the XoticPC MSI GS60 here so rather than go into all the options I'll simply cover what options I would choose and why - I think I would personally accept it in "stock" configuration. It features an mSATA 128 GB SSD (a good size IMO for OS/boot) plus a 1TB SATA III HDD and 12 GB of ram (8GB is currently considered "ideal" for gaming). [strike]Some of[/strike] the option[strike]s[/strike] I might consider would be:
For RAM/Memory, 16GB DDR3 1600MHz [SKU-824V] (Corsair Vengeance CL9 Dual Channel Memory (2x8GB SODIMMS)) ( + 172 )