Left Click stops responding HP dv7t-7000

kingofspades

Distinguished
Jul 27, 2011
I'm a Tech, and have been doing repairs for over ten years; This is just a strange one, on my personal laptop. I wanted to get some opinions from others.

My left click intermittently stops working about once per day. I can still use the track pad, and right click but left click stops (along with tapping).

This does not happen with a particular program, this happens at random times. It leaves nothing in the event log, no crash reports. I've reloaded the OS once and problem remained on 'clean' 7 install, also happens in safe mode. I've upgraded and downgraded synaptics drivers. I've tried disabling and enabling all mouse features.

This is a huge pain because I can not just recreate the problem, I have to continue using the laptop until it happens (which can be 6-8 hours).

I was wondering if anyone has seen a similar issue? I'm guessing it's hardware related.

Another note, after it stops working, I can use the keyboard to get into the mouse options, device settings, and reset device (then it starts working).

ampedal

Distinguished
Aug 27, 2009
I have the same issue with my DV7T-7000 (quad edition.) I'm assuming it's a driver issue. Hopefully synaptics will release an update.

Does anyone know of any trackpads that fit the same form factor, so that I could replace this one?

The left mouse-click problem is not the only issue - do not buy this laptop model if you plan on playing video games or using CAD software. The pad is clearly very low quality, and makes it impossible to do anything in a 3D environment.

The keyboard is also not top-notch, but that's another issue. I suppose HP opted to save $10 on the cost of manufacturing this $1000+ piece of equipment, and that decision nearly renders it unusable. Good job HP, I don't plan on buying another of your products.

(Don't get me started on the built-in obsolescence that is so apparent when you open it up.)

steady-j

Honorable