Need help choosing a laptop

CSerra

Estimable
Aug 15, 2014
Hello Tom's Hardware,

I'm a college student and I haven't got a computer of my own and so I'm considering getting either a laptop, a notebook or a convertible laptop. I want it for browsing, listening to music and playing some games (ie. Hearthstone). Mainly, I want one that can efficiently run iTunes and any other app simultaneously.

As my budget isn't that vast, I have made a search on a Craigslist like website and I've found some options in my city that still come with a warranty. I did this because I want to be able to see them operate before I actually buy them. They are:

Acer Iconia W510 for 290€
HP Pavilion DM1 4160 for 250€
Asus VivoTab RT TF600T for 280€

There is also another Tsunami (HL90) and an ASUS but I don't know the specific models. If necessary I can pass on the links to these adds to help further enlighten you.

As it is, what do you think is the best option for me? Should I even be looking for them like this or should I just go on ebay.co.uk? Or should I look for another particular computer?

I thank all the feedback that you can send my way as I am a real noob in these matters :)

Solution
Being in college, you might want to consider investing a tad more money in a laptop that will be more reliable and efficient for all four years.

Th first one, the Acer on your list, has only 2GB of RAM. Windows itself takes up about 1+ GB of RAM, and if your RAM gets filled you will have slowdowns. iTunes tends to use up a large amount of RAM, too. Since it is a tablet more than a laptop, it uses an Intel Atom processor, which has a lower frequency rate due to it needing less heat. Furthermore, the graphics card is built into this processor, and it will not meet your needs when gaming.

For some reason whenever I search that exact HP Pavilion, I see TONS of replacement screens for sale, and that cannot mean good news.

The Asus tablet...

turkey3_scratch

Estimable
Herald
Jul 15, 2014