Need help deciding on a not so fancy Android tablet.

IHazQuestion

Honorable
Jan 13, 2014
So far I have two that I have been looking at, The Dell Venue 7 and the Nexus 7.
The Dell Venue 7 is looking like my best option at the moment and I was looking for some input before making the purchase.

Here is the Dell Venue 7
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834300172

Here is the Nexus 7
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=34-230-573&SortField=0&SummaryType=0&Pagesize=10&PurchaseMark=&SelectedRating=4&VideoOnlyMark=False&VendorMark=&IsFeedbackTab=true&Keywords=%28keywords%29#scrollFullInfo

Just looking at the specs I feel like the Dell Venue 7 is the obvious choice but I have never owned a tablet and I am no expert.

Is there any reason why this is incorrect? Or is there a different tablet that is even better than the two and $200 or less?

Solution
I have the 32gb 2013 nexus 7 running the newest android (kitkat). This is my first tablet so I can't compare it to the venue. I use it for games, reading, email, some web browsing, and watching tv in the bedroom via a directTV app.

I've only had it since christmas so I haven't got anywhere close to using all 32gig, Even so, I have the ES file explorer app installed so I can upload/download files to any computer on my network. I guess the only gripe I have is the camera. It's ok, but not the best, but then again, I didn't purchase it for it's camera.

I'm not sure if it helps you, but I think you'd do well with either.
I have the 32GB version of the 2012 Nexus 7 as opposed the to the 16GB version in your link. I have never touched the Dell Venue 7.

I find the Nexus 7 to be fine for my needs which is basically reading, playing simple games like Pinball Arcade, watching movies and surfing the net. It is fine for my needs at least for now. I will say that I don't really like surfing the net on my tablet (and my Android phone as well). I am simply used to using a desktop / laptop for that.