Solved! Netflix wont play through home theater

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 4, 2018
Hey everyone, im new at this and have just set up my new home theater. Working with a Yamaha RX-V683 receiver. LG OLED 65E7 is the TV. DirecTV, XBox One S all work flawlessly but when i go to watch Netflix or Amazon Prime Video i just hear audio out of the TV only. I have messed with TV settings, tried Optical cable to no avail. The TV is connected to the receiver via ARC. Any other thoughts? I have read through all the search topics but nothing i have found has helped. I figure it has to be something with the receiver at this point.

Solution
Since you are using ARC, there has to be a setting in your TV that you need to change to enable the audio being sent out to the receiver.
https://www.digitaltrends.com/home-theater/hdmi-arc-explained-works-care/ - talks about ARC

Your other option would be to use the old school method, that while increases the amount of cables I think might be easier. In this case you would use your optical output on the TV and plug it into Audio 1 or 2, however, I'm not sure that that 2 TV on Audio 1 means so I would just plug into Audio 2. When you go to use the TV with Netflix, etc... you will just go to the Audio 2 input on the receiver and you shouldn't have to mess with any settings on the TV. If by chance that still doesn't work then there has...

Dugimodo

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2011
It could be a DRM or HDCP issue, Check the Netflix help forums I think there's a topic on it there.
Are you using the Xbox to watch Netflix or something else? and are you connected direct to the TV from the Netflix device or via the receiver first?