Solved! Samsung Series 9 for College Engineering Student?

dis1krazyazn

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2011
I'm an undergrad majoring in Electrical and Computer Engineering. I currently own a HP dv7-3160us 17in laptop. I bought it because I thought I'd be watching lots of movies and playing video games in college, but I ended up not doing so freshman year due to the course load.

The Samsung Series 9 is under CNET's best laptops and best ultraportable laptops http://reviews.cnet.com/best-laptops/ but I'm worried that it won't be able to run engineering programs and work that I will need to do my sophomore-senior year. During my freshman year, I just took lots of basic classes such as calculus and physics, so I'm not too familiar with all of the programs/work that I will be having to do in the future on my laptop.

Also what's the difference between these 2 Amazon links for the Samsung Series 9. One has 02 in the name and other 03, but I can't figure out what's different.
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-NP900X3A-A02US-13-3-Inch-Laptop-Black/dp/B004NF3Z82
and
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-NP900X3A-A03US-13-3-Inch-Laptop-Black/dp/B004NF5RU6

Solution
You can get a HDMI to S-Video adapter cables to match up your laptop outputs with your TV inputs.
l8-15cable1.jpg

But on an older 4:3 aspect ratio TV you're going to be working with screen resolutions that are lower than even a standard 1366x768 LCD screen. Very little advantage to going that route if you have other options.

You can get good deals on space saving 21.5~23" 1920x1080 LCD monitors.
Here is a 23" model with digital TV tuner: SAMSUNG P2370HD-1 23" LCD HDTV Monitor & speakers $220

dis1krazyazn

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2011

Hi! I just searched and here's the recommendations for the 2011-2012 glass for PC Laptops
http://www.colorado.edu/its/recommendations/studentpclap.html