What cables needed? [photos included]

perham3d

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2007
Hi,
i recently bought an amp and 5.1 home theather speakers for my pc. Ive got the amp connected via optical cable out of my auzentech x-plosion. Ive got the phono cables to connect the amp to the sub, im just not sure what cables i need to connect the outputs from the sub to the other speakers.

You can see the connections in the photo (thats the back of the sub and the back of one of the speakers)

Is it just a case of normal audio phono cables and snip one of the ends off to connect it to the small speaker? Or is it something more specific? If so, any links would be greatly appreciated

P.S im not in the market for super pro cables, im a student firstly and the speakers are not of an audiohpile quality :p

wires.jpg

perham3d

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2007
there is no model name or anything on it.google has been no help either.

however,good news as i have figured out how to get the speakers connected. it was just a case of snipping the end of the phono cable and splitting the wires to go in the back of the speakers.

although, im now having problems with my auzentech x-plosion. its all fine except the volume slider bar for the digital output (ie the optical cable) is greyed and stuck at halfway. anyone know of this problem?

rexter

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2006
There's no ready made cable for that type that I've seen on the market. You have to make your own or have someone make it for you.

The RCA cord you used are designed for low voltage signals. Sooner or later you'll hear pops on your speakers with that cord.

You'll need RCA connectors also like these connectors or just replace the wire on that RCA cable.

I would use an RJ45 cable if it's my installation, but speaker wires are fine. Make sure that the red connecting to your speaker is soldered at the center of the RCA connector and the ground to the outer terminal.