CluelessPanda

Estimable
Sep 6, 2015
Sorry im kind of new to audio equipment and was just given a Kenwood x9060 receiver and surround speakers to go with them. I have used the option of the white/red RCA to a 3.5mm Jack into the desktop and that works fine for stereo sound. I was wondering if there was a way to utilize the 5.1 surround sound through my desktop since i watch most of it from my computer. I found links to the mother board back panel and receiver back panel, hope this helps. Thankyou

Mother Board: Z87-HD3 Gigabyte

http://www.gigabyte.com/fileupload/product/2/4489/8012_big.jpg

Receiver: Kenwood KRF-X9060D

http://www.fein-hifi.de/images/product_images/original_images/25_4_krf_x9060use.jpg

Solution

The manual is for Z87-HD3 and H87-HD3 only and lists the S/PDIF cable as an optional item on page 6 and shows where it connects to the lower end of the mobo on page 7!

CluelessPanda

Estimable
Sep 6, 2015

Sorry i got a bit confused, so i would run a HDMI from my computer to the http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Premium-Extractor-Converter-VHD-H2HSAs/dp/B00KBHX072 and then from that box use the "optical out" with proper cable to the "optical input" of the receiver? and that should hopefully give me 5.1?

Thankyou for the reply btw much love <3

P.S. sorry didnt realise there was a question, i was hoping to use the 6 coloured audio jacks of the mother board and didnt even think of HDMI.

noidea_77

Honorable
Jul 28, 2012
Your receiver supports the digital spdif in via copper cable and the motherboard has a spdif out port directly on the board, that needs an adapter bracket. Is it listed as an optional item in the manual and may have been in the box. Short version: connect the yellow coax ports on both sides.

kanewolf

Judicious