Basic Speaker System for Listening to Music in a Small Room

kanucks25

Estimable
Mar 19, 2014
Hello,

Would just like to start off by saying that have absolutely zero knowledge on audio, speakers, etc. Complete noobie, so bear with me.

I'm looking for a basic speaker setup just to play my FLAC music collection in my small room (12 ft x 10 ft). I don't have an audiophile ear by any means, so I'm not looking for anything epic, but of course general quality is important (I care more about sound quality than bass or loudness).

I could spend up to a $700 if I needed to but I doubt that'd be necessary for what I want. The cheaper the better, of course, and I'm willing to sacrifice small increments of quality it means a large drop in price.

This is what I currently have hooked up to my PC:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0027VT6V4/ref=s9_simh_gw_p147_d0_i3?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=0WBEQ8XWV1KXPZD7JN95&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1688200382&pf_rd_i=507846

Would 5 speaker surround sound work?

Would it be better to buy speakers with an external receiver instead of hooking them up straight to my computer?

Let me know if I needed to include anymore details.

I would appreciate the help :) Thanks!

kanucks25

Estimable
Mar 19, 2014

Would I be needing a new sound-card/mother-board for more expensive PC speakers like these? Right now I just have a basic computer.

Would it be better to get an external receiver with the speakers instead?

shadowed

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2006
Wow... that is such a touchy subject for audiophiles. Enough to start a flame war.
Here is a link on one side of the argument.

blind test with huge price range of hardware:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/high-end-pc-audio,3733.html

and this reviewer claims they sound excellent straight out from the pc:
http://www.audiostream.com/content/audioengine-5-a5-premium-powered-speakers