Best Blu-Ray playback software?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Praedos

Honorable
Jun 2, 2013
Ey.

So I've been leaching off trials now to watch Bluray flicks for a couple months, and given I've run into some $$, what is the best playback software [i.e- watching movies]

Granted the variety of software trials I've been milking, I've neglected the names of them, and thus forgotten their intergrity- of which that been said, does anyone carry any suggestions towards a solid playback program?

Preferably it carries a pricetag, as it assures [hopefully] quality.

I'm currently using PowerDVD, and it blows. Ex- Skipping around in the Fellowship of the Ring, or The Hobbit, where it essentially freezes, and pixelates like a mother fucker. Which is a shame, considering the convience of the UI.

But I digress.

Tl;dr- Best BluRay playback softare.

kthx.

SchizTech

Distinguished
Jan 16, 2011
I had no problems with playback in PowerDVD, though I had other aggravations with it. I've had installation errors after refreshing my PC, and didn't like the UI performance (though playback was fine for me). It took control of music CDs also, which I had to reset to avoid long delays after inserting a CD.

This issue of poor playback begs me to ask, what are your hardware specs?

The other (commercial) Blu-Ray software I'm aware of is Arcsoft Total Media Theater or Corel WinDVD (I don't have much direct experience with either)

At the moment my solution has been to rip movies to Hard Disk and play them from there in Media Player Classic (freeware)

Praedos

Honorable
Jun 2, 2013

Thanks for the response. My specs are a GTX660ti 3gb SC'd, an i5 3570k jumping between 3.4-3.8ghz, 8GB Ram, and my drive.
And I'm using 2 monitors, a Vizio 37" TV, and a Asus 24" 144z, 3d, both @ 1080.