Help! My audio software vanished on Win 10 & sound is terrible! Looking for name of it - orange speaker.

mumoffour

Estimable
Dec 5, 2015
As you can tell I am indeed a total novice when it comes to software so apologies for what must seem like a truly stupid question!

I always have my headphones on when working & use my youtube playlists for music.
There was preinstalled program on this laptop when we bought it & I played with a bit to set up the exact sound I wanted, it was perfect.

My 10 yr old used the laptop the other night & in the morning the sound was odd so I went to open the program and it vanished. Totally.

It's not on here anywhere, I've been through everything. It's shortcut was a dark orange/brown speaker on the taskbar next to my usual volume control.

Realtek came to mind and the normal speakers also show as Realtek but I only have the usual properties/enhancements and done even manually the sound is awful to me.

I downloaded the Realtek HD audio which sounded to be it but on installation it fails due to a missing driver.
Said driver seemed obvious on their site & was downloaded and is zip file, which normally would unzip (lol, is that even the word?) automatically.

It won't and I will admit I've never done them manually and nope, have NO idea how to run the damn thing.

I can't even say for sure that it WAS the Realtek HD audio program, TBH once it was set at how I wanted it I've only used the normal volume control to control volume & that's it - nothing has needed changing.

In a nutshell I'm hoping someone recognises it (as a search showed that symbol described so hoping someone knows it) and if it IS the Realtek HD Audio program can talk a total novice through reinstalling it and what driver is needed and how to unzip it manually.

Apologies for length and totally stupid question, I'm not normally totally inept lol but this one is driving me mad!