How do studio headphones work with gaming sound?

Theobane

Distinguished
Aug 31, 2011
Ok so I recently bought a pair of Shure SRH840's to use for some monitoring for my music recording, as well as just listening to music. But I also am a pretty heavy gamer and have been hearing that studio headphones are really good for gaming as well.

However, I just want to know how these headphones will interact with my system/soundcard when it comes to gaming? I have an X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro Sound Card. Are these studio headphones meant to run through this type of sound card? Sorry, I'm just starting to learn about audio, so I still have a lot of basic questions. Any help explaining this would help! Will the XFI soundcard work well with the 840's? And what about surround sound? I don't understand why all these gaming headsets have 5.1 or 7.1 if they dont even sound as good? I'm confused...lol...Anyways,, thnx in advance for any help!

Shure 840's

X-FI Titanium Fatal1ty Pro

look to see what the resistance is on your headphones. low resistance headphones (the ones that you can plug into cd/mp3 players and do not require an amplifier to get sound) should work perfectly fine with your sound card. granted having a portable amp can push your headphones harder (and possibly make them sound a bit better) but this is completely optional. if you have high resistance headphones you might need an amplifier just to get any sound out of them at all.

i own top of the line audiotechnicas (ath-m50) which are on the lower spectrum in terms of resistance but completely blow any low end speakers out of the water. they work great with low power devices such as mp3/cd players and will plug right into a headphone jack on your soundcard. i use a receiver for all my sound output so i would most likely just use the large plug and use the receiver (which has an amp!)