How does a Python function work to control other hardware?

Atreyo Bhattacharjee

Commendable
Feb 7, 2017
I'm sorry if I'm misusing the word package. I have little experience in Python, and am still learning.

So in my computer science class, we are using these robots called Finch to learn the very basics of robotics. So using the Finch package, we can make the robot do things with simple function calls. I was curious to how those functions, which would be written in Python, be able to interface with a piece of hardware that the language is not naively created to be able to communicate with? What makes that package so special, that it allows Python to communicate with the robot?

I guess in a broader sense, I'm asking how any function can have code to control and interface with any hardware the language is not naively designed to.

As I said, I'm really new to Python and programming in general (around 6 months of experience), so please don't rip at me for being a noob.

Here's the link to the robot we are using:
https://www.finchrobot.com/

Solution
One way to consider how the functions work is to look at it as if you had some controller or joystick in your hand connected to the robot.

You might push one button to make the robot go forward. Another button to go backward. Likewise other buttons to turn left or turn right. Or combinations of buttons for more complex actions. Or a sequence of actions.

All the controller buttons do is complete some electrical circuit that makes the applicable robot motors turn on or off and move (step) in some incremental direction.

So when you code a Python function that function is written to provide the necessary electrical signals to the robot just as if you were pushing buttons on a controller.

What your Python function must do is convert...
One way to consider how the functions work is to look at it as if you had some controller or joystick in your hand connected to the robot.