Tech Myths: CD Chills and Phone Thrills

Status
Not open for further replies.

FUtomNOreg

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2008
Pink Floyd was enhanced not by putting it in the freezer. It sounded better because of the ice cubes you took out to add to your alcoholic beverage.

G

Well i worked in a hospital as an anesthesia tech over the summer. Although the hospital did have a no cell phone policy, this was consistently ignored. In fact, there was a cell phone in each room for the anesthesiologists. I asked the head tech about this and he said that once upon a time, cell phones could cause interference in things like an EGK. However, they would never render a machine unusable. Furthermore, modern machines are shielded and are not significantly affected by a cell phone.

Codesmith

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2003
CDs are stored digitally. The data is encoded with redundancy that allows for error detection and correction.

Again if all the errors are correctable then the music stored on the disc is 100% identical to the original.

If you want to measure disc quality you can run a utility that will graph the number and types of errors found on the disc.

johnny_5

Distinguished
May 20, 2009
So Willy Winkle, Third Stage is among your oldest albums, but Boston's debut is not. Was it lost in the sands of time or did you actually own Third Stage and not Boston? If the latter, then, I really don't know what to say. :|

Draven35

Distinguished
Nov 7, 2008
If you really think there's a difference, rip ta piece of both CDs to uncompressed .wav files, and compare the digital data...

A quick point... cellular phones were moderately dangerous to medical equipment and certain navigational computers on aircraft. When i say cellular phones, i mean the analog bricks we carried around in 1991 when the law was made. The phones we're using now are technically all digital PCS phones, not the analog cell phones those laws were written for.

hellwig

Distinguished
May 29, 2008