Solved! 50$ Tuner Card (PCI/PCI-e x1) for Charter

gidgiddonihah

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2009
Hi, im new to the whole TV thing. I watch movies and therefore can pick out what TV i want :lol:, but beyond movies, i am CLUELESS :eek: . I am looking for a CHEAP (50$) TV Tuner Card for my PC for recording TV. A remote would be very nice, but not required ;) , i need it to work with Charter Cable TV , and it needs to be able to record and view Charter HD channels. I would also like it to work with Windows 7 Media Center (32 Bit). (Edited)

1.) I found Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1250, so:
a.) Is it a good one?? :lol: There isn't much to be said around forums or review sites online...
b.) And will it work with Charter?? Im confused on the whole Clear Qam thing... :pt1cable:
c.) If this won't work or its not a good one, what would be a good one?

2.) I have a problem with getting the cable to my computer. I have 1 cable jack in my wall, and it is all the way across the room so:

a.) I have the 1 jack hooked up to a cable that leads to a splitter, one cable goes my modem (Which i have a WiFi router coming to it. My PC is on that Wi-Fi connection...). The other goes to a box that looks like a modem and phone box. I don't want to get rid of either one or move my computer, but i don't have anywhere to get a cable to my computer unless i want to run it from 400 feet away in the family room :eek: . So any suggestions??
b.) I was thinking of getting ANOTHER splitter on top of that, but it started to speak a foriegn language when it said coaxal.... :eek: :pt1cable: So what would i get???

Remember that I would like this whole deal to stay right around 50-60$. Would appreciate any help i could get! :)

My Specs:
Pentium D 945 3.2GHz
3GB RAM
Geforce 9600GT
500Watt Supply
1TB HDD Space

Thanks Ahead :hello:

Solution