Can someone explain what different PCI slots do?

Charlie A

Estimable
Mar 20, 2016
Hi there, I am a laptop user and have relatively good tech knowledge but I am running into some confusion over inputs/outputs.

I am looking into using an external GPU setup for my laptop and am aware of the predicaments and have heard the classic 'just get a new___' , I can't, I'm a student so money is very limited, I've heard a lot of this before and would appreciate not being discouraged and shouted down further by arrogant people with £1000 PC rigs. I like the idea of using an external GPU but do not have a Thunderbolt slot on my laptop.

So please, be helpful.

I'm hearing the term PCI, PCI express, mini PCI e, and PCI e thrown around a lot lately, and would like a clear answer as to what they all mean, if they possess the same bandwidth and also any helpful links. Also, I don't have a clue which slots my laptop has and which one I would use for an external, desktop sized Graphics Card.

My laptop I believe has a space inside it for a mobile graphics card but I don't want to deconstruct it or even do anything to void the warranty until I know a little bit more about the process. I'm thinking I could use the mGPU slot for a cable that could go to an adapter, which could go to a GPU and so on.

Summary: What do the different PCI's mean, which one do I need, and do I have it?

Please keep the responses at a 'need to know' level if you know what I mean. I really don't need to know what the cables are made of or how a GPU works in detail, just the info to see the project throogh.

Laptop:

Lenovo G505S.

p.s: No one said that building an external GPU setup would be easy and I'm aware of this, but I'm more than willing to put the effort in as the results look very promising.

Solution
G
PCI: obsolete standard
PCIe (aka PCI Express): what modern GPUs plug into
PCIe-Mini: what your laptop probably has; likely in use by the integrated WiFi card