Gil maia

Estimable
Aug 23, 2014
7
0
4,510
0
Hello there,
I recently bought a gopro hero 5 second hand and I'm not sure if the reset will disable all the tracking things and the devices connected to it. I'm not comfortable using it until I know it is private.
Can anyone help me?
 

t53186

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
140
0
18,710
29
According to the users manual

RESTORING FACTORY SETTINGS
Follow the steps below to reset all settings and the camera’s password, and
unregister the camera from your GoPro Plus account. This option is useful if
you are reselling your camera and want to reset it to its original state.
1. From the main screen, swipe down.
2. Tap Preferences > Factory Reset, and then tap Reset.
 

t53186

Distinguished
Aug 6, 2006
140
0
18,710
29
According to the users manual

RESTORING FACTORY SETTINGS
Follow the steps below to reset all settings and the camera’s password, and
unregister the camera from your GoPro Plus account. This option is useful if
you are reselling your camera and want to reset it to its original state.
1. From the main screen, swipe down.
2. Tap Preferences > Factory Reset, and then tap Reset.
 

Andrea Mathew

Commendable
Dec 7, 2016
33
0
1,610
12
Hi,

The above mentioned steps will be useful as you are a new user. Restoring GoPro to factory settings will ensure that all the manual settings done by the previous user will be completely removed. This will disable the GoPro's tracking and connections to other devices. You can use it after performing a factory restore without any fear.

You can check this manual for further reference:
https://gopro.com/content/dam/help/hero5-black/manuals/HERO5Black_UM_ENG_REVC_Web.pdf
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY