how do i hook up my home theatre to my pc??

Stemz

Honorable
Nov 27, 2013
So I've been tying to connect my pc to my home theatre since its a 7.1 surround sound system but i could only seem to get it to run stereo 2.0 i probably don't have the required equipment my mother board has 5.0 audio. My gpu is a nvidia 760, the card had true audio but i have no clue what that is lol I'm kind of new to this would i need a audio card to run 7.1?

Solution

If your amplifier supports HDMI, use that and read no further.

If your amplifier does not support HDMI, your options are limited to what can be accomplished with optical audio using the S/PDIF protocol.

As far as audio is concerned, HDMI supports the following:

Up to 8 channels of LPCM (uncompressed digital audio) at a data rate of 24 bits per sample and 192,000...

jnewegger23

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2013
I'm no audiophile but I have my gaming rig connected to 3 monitors plus my home theater 46" Sony Bravia via my Sony AMP. I simply bought a 50 ft hdmi cable and connected it to my gpu and AMP. Sounds pretty good to me. I'm sure some serious audiophiles have more detailed solutions but this works well for my needs.

Rig>GPU>Hdmi>AMP>TV

ibnBzyuBa88jS1.jpg

The Amp intakes the hdmi cable audio and disperses through the speakers and simultaneously takes the video signal and sends to the TV.

Hope this helps at least get you to test it out whether you keep this method or go with another have fun with it!

Thanks,

Justin S.

Danifilth

Honorable
Apr 22, 2013
The way i would do it is get a 3.5mm or whatever headphone size jack it is to AV cables converter usually you find in radioshack.

2nd is hooking up the optical cable from the motherboard usually newer motherboards have those if not buy a sound card for cheap.

For bragging rights you can buy a 500$ dollar sound card if you want with 200$ cables. Someone will know more than me since i only use 4.1 speakers that i bought around 2001 creative inspire 4.1 series

Pinhedd