Jan 28, 2014
One discovery that is really a no brainer is online storage, but host also have hard drive crashes issues too, but even if I could hold them liable, I would rather have what I recorded then money that doesn't mean nothing for the work I put into my music. I was sort of thinking of getting a reel-to-reel considering these recording machines have come down in price quite a bit over the years. I would slowly buy tapes every time I made an album. Do you think this is feasible? I am a serious home dj artist and I have lost quite a few recordings that took hours to master, so I need the best affordable solution to keep all of my recording from becoming lost.

Solution

Have you ever used a reel-to-reel?
One word - Lossy.

Yes, they were great back in the day. However, unless you buy high end studio equipment, and are meticulous...it isn't as good as a direct digital copy.

Another word - bleed through. (ok, two words)
If you record onto a tape, and put it on the shelf for a couple of years...bleed through. One layer will slightly imprint onto the next layer of tape. Yes, this happens.
You can hear a...
Jan 28, 2014
I would rather go the analog way. The thing is that I DO understand that die at some point, but my point is that when I mentioned the reel-to-reel option I thought it was best option because I feel that it would be some time before I would have to transfer it to a new media storage medium again

USAFRet

Illustrious

Have you ever used a reel-to-reel?
One word - Lossy.

Yes, they were great back in the day. However, unless you buy high end studio equipment, and are meticulous...it isn't as good as a direct digital copy.

Another word - bleed through. (ok, two words)
If you record onto a tape, and put it on the shelf for a couple of years...bleed through. One layer will slightly imprint onto the next layer of tape. Yes, this happens.
You can hear a slight echo of the past or previous 20" of tape.