Alienware Laptop - what should I do right there?

HgxPVP

Estimable
Jul 27, 2015
Hi guys.
I'm pretty new to this whole section of GPU and stuff(you can gladly call me a noob).
Anyways I have an Alienware m17x R4 and I think my GPU (nvidia gefore gtx 675m) just died because I'm getting the blackscreen and the 8 beeps when I try to startup windows. (I think I confirmed it is not an LCD failure because I connected the alienware into the Tv screen and nothing happend).

long story short.. I need to provide my alienware with a new graphic card ( I really hope that's the issue, cuz if not it will be throwing money in the sea) and I'm currently looking for that in http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/geforce-laptop-graphics-uk.html but whenever I try to purchase it by clicking ''compare prices'' I get into a section that tells me to buy a whole new laptop?

Let us take gtx 770m for an example..there's like no way to buy any of these graphic cards. I'd like some help please. like provide me with a link to buy the graphic cards..

oh.. and can someone please confirm that is is actually a graphic card problem ? cuz I don't wanna waste over 300$ for nothing ;'/

thanks in advance ! <3

Solution
Unfortunately, laptops don't have graphics cards as such. They have mobile graphics chips soldered to a custom motherboard. Can't be replaced in the field. That's why you're seeing links to buy a whole new laptop.

The first question is - is it still in warranty? If so, make Dell fix it!

RageGamingZone

Estimable
Jul 22, 2015
If you have an AMI BIOS then 8 beeps would mean a display memory Read/Write test failure. This is usually caused by a problem with the video card, or the memory on the video card. It can also be a motherboard issue. If it happens to be the GPU that you need to replace, then I can most likely help you.

StarChief

Estimable
Jun 22, 2015