Ccleaner https/www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download is on the other side side of the coin. If you need to erase something or an entire drive you have the option to overwrite that data up to 35 times. When you delete a file and put it in the recycle bin and empty it or delete it without the bin that file is still easily recoverable, usually. You can go to the landfill and find your folder that you put in your recycle bin that morning. It has the word hello written on it. Still perfectly readable. Now write on that word 35 times. Not going to be legible anymore. All Windows does is remove the occupied sign and puts a vacant sign. This address is available. The space is still occupied but can be overwritten as necessary because the user said they don't need whatever occupies that space. BUT should they change their mind they had better do it quickly before Windows decides to place a folder there and corrupts that file. Recuva is there for those accidents. BUT when considerable activity has taken place the likelihood of retrieval becomes less and less of a possibility.
If the drive in question is an SSD you're more than likely not going to be able to recover any information. Different tech.. Different rules.