Editing & Encoding in two different softwares

chaitanya singh

Distinguished
Jul 2, 2009
is there any way to edit video in one software and encode it in different software. Apparanly I am new to this so please be patient.
I have Adobe Premier Pro CC installed but
it takes too much time to encode video and hence my CPU temp rise to high.
I am thinking of using Badaboom as I have Nvidea Graphics card installed on my computer.
So is it possible to use Pre Pro for editing and Badlaboom for encoding.

Solution
It's not entirely black and white. Some encoders handle some types of source material better than others, and this will be further affected by the settings you specify. Badaboom has some limitations as a GPU-based encoder, but its main problem is that it was designed with mobile devices in mind, where the small screens make it more difficult to notice compression artifacts. Quality is sacrificed to keep bitrates and encode times down. Other encoders are not opinionated about the target device and give you more flexibility to choose whether to prioritise encode speed, file size, quality, or something in between. x264 is a prime example. It has a dizzying number of options if you want to get your hands dirty (it also has presets so you...
Whatever app you use for editing your video, you would have to "save" it with that same app when editing is complete, which essentially is the same as encoding.

Now, there is nothing to stop you converting that video with a third-party video converter if you want, but that's not what you are asking. You can't edit video then somehow "suspend" it in memory while you encode it with different software.

Anyway, I don't think it will make any difference in processing time which software you use. I think your hardware may be lacking in the "oomph" department. That's what you need to address. Video-editing/encoding is very reliant on high-end hardware if you want to avoid long processing times.

chaitanya singh

Distinguished